Academic audit

staff member working on spreasheet

Cycle 5 University Academic Audit

In November 2014, the fifth academic audit of the University of Canterbury was undertaken by the Academic Quality Agency for New Zealand Universities (AQA, formerly the New Zealand Universities Academic Audit Unit). The report is available at

AQA is an independent body established by the New Zealand Vice-Chancellors’ Committee to carry out an academic audit of universities. AQA audits are predicated on the principles of being evidence-based; enhancement-led; externally benchmarked and undertaken by peers. The Cycle 5 framework was developed in consultation with staff and Vice-Chancellors of New Zealand universities, internationally experienced auditors and the New Zealand Union of Students’ Associations. Further information about the basis for audit may be found in the Handbook for Universities at

The Cycle 5 framework encompasses forty Guideline Statements pertaining to teaching and learning and student support. A summary of these statements can be found at UC prepared a self-review portfolio which addresses these Guideline Statements and which is available to staff on request from

Each audit includes a site visit to the University, during which the panel will interview staff and students who have been identified by UC. Members of the panel who audited UC are:

Professor Bruce Harris LLB(Hons), LLM Harv., LLD (Panel Chair)
Bruce Harris has been a Professor of Law at the University of Auckland since 1994. He previously worked for two years as a litigation lawyer and researched and taught for 17 years at the University of Otago. Bruce was Dean of Law at Otago in 1989 and at Auckland from 1995 to 2000. He was the Auckland representative on CUAP from 2002 to 2008 and from 2009 to 2013 he was the elected representative of the professors on the University of Auckland Council.

Professor Penny Boumelha MA, D.Phil. (Oxon.), FAHA
Penny Boumelha was recently Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) at Victoria University of Wellington, having served previously as Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost at the University of Adelaide (1999–2005). Penny has published widely on aspects of nineteenth-century literature. In 2003 she was awarded a Centenary Medal by the Commonwealth Government of Australia for services to Australian society and the humanities in English language and literature.

Dr Roy Nates BSc(Mech Eng), MSc(Eng), MIPENZ, PhD(Cape Town)
Roy Nates is Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at AUT University. Prior to AUT, Roy worked for 13 years at the University of Cape Town and 3 years at the University of Pretoria. He received a distinguished Teacher's Award from the University of Cape Town in 1994. Roy was a member of the panel which audited CUAP in 2011.

Professor Helen Nicholson BSc (Hons), MBChB, MD (Bristol)
Helen Nicholson is Dean of the Otago School of Medical Sciences and Deputy Pro Vice-Chancellor of the Division of Health Science at the University of Otago where she has also been Head of Department (2003-07), Dean, School of Medical Sciences (2007 - present), Deputy PVC Health Sciences (2012-present) and in 2011 was Acting DVC (Research and Enterprise) for six months. Prior to that Helen was on the staff of The University of Bristol.

Dr Anne L Martin BA (Wellesley), MA, PhD (Wisconsin)
Anne Martin provides consulting services on the development and delivery of academic programs and policies, planning and academic standards and quality assurance. She was previously Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic) at Deakin University (Australia). Anne is an academic auditor for national quality agencies in Saudi Arabia, Oman, Ireland, Papua New Guinea and Hong Kong. In 2010 she was awarded the Australian Higher Education Quality Award.

Further information about the audit process is available from:

Eleri Nugent

Academic Quality Assurance Advisor
Matariki Level 5 Sth
Internal Phone: 93966