UC Journalism Graduates Finalists for 2017 Canon Awards

16 May 2017

The Canon Media Awards this week feature many UC Graduate Diploma in Journalism alumni among the 2017 finalists.

  • UC Journalisim Graduates at 2016 Canon Media Awards

    Tess McClure (left) and Rebecca Macfie (right) receiving their award at last year’s Canon Media Awards.

After a great showing last year, UC Postgraduate Diploma in Journalism alumni are finalists again for many of the prime awards at the Canon Media Awards this week. Three of six finalists for the top prize of reporter of the year are UC journalism graduates, and two of six finalists for student journalist of the year are from UC’s 2016 class.

Some UC finalists include: Rebecca Macfie - feature writer of the year, best health and lifestyle feature writer, best general feature writer, best business and politics feature writer; Tess McClure - best investigation and reporter of the year, best feature writer (general); Talia Shadwell and Blair Ensor) - reporter of the year; Anna Leask - best crime and justice reporter & crime and justice feature writer; Liam Dann - business reporter of the year; Jonathan Milne - business and politics feature writer & business and politics opinion writer; Katarina Williams: sports journalist of the year.

We wish our graduates the best of luck on this prestigious night for NZ journalism.

For more information contact Journalism Programme Co-ordinator Tara Ross.


UC researchers create bibliography of writing by Māori in English

University of Canterbury researchers have created a comprehensive, online, annotated bibliography of writing by Māori in English, and released it free ...

Percussion quartet’s album cover BEYOND

Percussion quartet’s album BEYOND listed in two top ten lists

Senior Lecturer Dr Justin DeHart's studio recording was recently listed in two top ten Classical Music Album lists for 2017.