News archive

UC academic named 2014 Young Engineer of the Year

04 December 2014

Associate Professor Brendon Bradley has been named the New Zealand Young Engineer of the Year.

Engineering precinct redevelopment contract signed

03 December 2014

UC today signed a substantial contract with Hawkins Construction for the first major redevelopment of the campus's engineering precinct in more than 40 years.

Methadone exposed children's learning at risk

03 December 2014

UC PhD psychology student Samantha Lee has been awarded a three year $120,000 Lotteries Health Research scholarship.

Grumpy nor'west winds

02 December 2014

Many Canterbury people believe the nor'west winds that blow strong in spring and summer makes them feel grumpy, a University of Canterbury academic says.

Clean teeth if prompted by text messages

01 December 2014

Young unemployed people are more likely to clean their teeth more often if they are prompted with text messages, a University of Canterbury health research study has found.

Animal welfare lessons from quakes in new book

01 December 2014

A new book that explores the impact of the Christchurch earthquakes on animals, and the lessons we can learn in animal welfare from the natural disaster, has been published.

UC NEWS logo

01 December 2014

University of Canterbury students Nick Brunsdon and Jayden MacRae are the winners of the inaugural New Zealand student spatial excellence awards.

Cost of tax compliance higher than expected

01 December 2014

A University of Canterbury tax professor says the overall costs of compliance for small to medium businesses is higher than the most recent published study.

Canterbury appoints Distinguished Professor

01 December 2014

A University of Canterbury mathematics expert who researches how life on Earth began has been appointed a Distinguished Professor.

UC scientist wins major American geological award

28 November 2014

UC geologist Associate Professor Mark Quigley is the first scientist outside North America to win the Geological Society of America's annual Public Service award.