Senior Management Team
Te Ohu Whakahaere

UC's management is led by the Senior Management Team which organises and coordinates activities to achieve the goals outlined in‌ UC Investment Plan 2015-2017 UC’s 2015–16 Plan and UC Futures - How UC will support Canterbury's renewal.

724 x 484

Rod Carr


Tumu Whakarae

Dr Rod Carr leads the Senior Management Team and has responsibility for the overall leadership of the university, reporting to the University Council.

Ian Wright

Ian Wright

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Tumu Tuarua

Professor Ian Wright has operational responsibility for research issues and outside commercial activities by staff and students.

Jeff Field block

Jeff Field

University Registrar


Jeff Field has operational responsibility for governance, statutory and regulatory compliance and is the secretary to the University Council.

Darryn Russell block

Darryn Russell

Assistant Vice-Chancellor Māori

Amokapua Māori

Mr Darryn Russell assists UC in creating a learning environment which recognises and promotes New Zealand’s unique bicultural society.

Catherine Moran

Catherine Moran

Assistant Vice-Chancellor

Amokapua Akoranga

Professor Catherine Moran coordinates the Graduate Profile programme and other key projects such as enhancing the student experience.

Jonathan Le Cocq

Jonathan Le Cocq

Pro-Vice-Chancellor - Arts

Amorangi Toi Tangata

Professor Jonathan Le Cocq has operational responsibility for the College of Arts.

Sonia Mazey

Sonia Mazey

Pro-Vice-Chancellor - Business and Law

Amorangi Umanga me te Ture

Professor Sonia Mazey has operational responsibility for the College of Business and Law.

Gail Gillon

Prof Gail Gillon

Pro-Vice-Chancellor - Education, Health & Human Development

Amorangi Ako me te Hauora

Professor Gail Gillon has operational responsibility for the College of Education, Health & Human Development.

Jan Evans Freeman

Prof Jan Evans-Freeman

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Engineering

Amorangi Pūkaha

Professor Jan Evans-Freeman has operational responsibility for the College of Engineering.

Professor Wendy Lawson

Wendy Lawson

Pro-Vice-Chancellor - Science

Amorangi Pūtaiao

Professor Wendy Lawson has operational responsibility for the College of Science.

Keith Longden

Keith Longden

Executive Director/CFO

Kaihautū Matua Ahumoni

Mr Keith Longden has operational responsibility for UC's financial matters.

Lynn McClelland

Lynn McClelland

Executive Director Student Services and Communications

Kaihautū Matua Ākonga me te Whakapā

Ms Lynn McClelland is responsible for student welfare, equal educational opportunities, accommodation, communications and international matters.

Paul O'Flaherty

Paul O'Flaherty

Executive Director - Human Resources

Kaihautū Matua Pūmanawa Tangata

Alex Hanlon

Alex Hanlon

Executive Director Learning Resources

Kaihautū Matua Rauemi Ako

Ms Alex Hanlon is responsible for the management and development of UC Libraries, Information Technology Services and the UC Estate including Capital Works property and infrastructure.

The Terms of Reference for Senior Management meetings are outlined in the Senior Management Terms of Reference document.