

Professors Emeriti

from 1962 to 2024

* Deceased

*Professor N M MacElwee	Electrical Engineering	1962
*Professor J Packer	Chemistry	1962
*Professor R S Allan	Geology	1962
*Professor N C Phillips	History	1966
*Professor H E Field	Education	1968
*Professor R J Rastrick	Mechanical Engineering	1968
*Professor W R Philipson	Botany	1976
Professor A D Brownlie	Economics	1977
*Professor H J Hopkins	Civil Engineering	1977
*Professor A Crowther	Psychology	1978
*Professor J C Garrett	English	1978
*Professor D A Kidd	Classics	1978
*Professor P J Lawrence	Education	1980
*Professor C J Wilkins	Chemistry	1981
*Professor T E Carter	German	1982
*Professor G M Petersen	Mathematics	1983
*Professor R L C Pilgrim	Zoology	1983
*Professor G A Knox	Zoology	1984
*Professor B C Arnold	Botany	1984
*Professor E L Ellis	Forestry	1984
*Professor P J McKelvey	Forestry	1984
*Professor A G McLellan	Physics	1984
*Professor J A Ritchie	Music	1985
*Professor A A Conway	American Studies	1985
*Professor A R Crawford	Geology	1986
*Professor F Devonport	Accountancy	1985

*Professor J Vaughan	Chemistry	1985
*Professor R A Copland	English	1986
*Professor M Gage	Geology	1986
Professor L Kay	Electrical Engineering	1986
*Professor H Winston Rhodes	English	1986
*Professor G W O Woodward	History	1987
*Professor W C Clark	Zoology	1988
*Professor T Paulay	Civil Engineering	1988
*Professor B R Penfold	Chemistry	1988
*Professor D C Stevenson	Mechanical Engineering	1989
Professor A G Williamson	Chemical & Process Engineering	1989
Professor H J Simpson	Fine Arts	1990
*Professor W L Jones	Physics	1992
*Professor J K Bargh	Electrical & Electronic Engineering	1992
Professor A M Kennedy	Chemical & Process Engineering	1992
Professor R P Kerr	Mathematics	1992
*Professor H McCallion	Mechanical Engineering	1992
*Professor J M Soons	Geography	1992
Professor D A Davy	English	1993
*Professor L A Erasmus	Mechanical Engineering	1993
*Professor W K Jackson	Political Science	1993

Professor W B Johnston	Geography	1993
*Professor D G Lloyd	Plant & Microbial Sciences	1993
Professor I R Wood	Civil Engineering	1993
Professor B A Woods	Mathematics	1993
Professor W B Elley	Education	1994
Professor J P Penny	Computer Science	1994
Professor R H Stoothoff	Philosophy	1994
*Professor G B Sweet	Forestry	1994
*Professor J D Lovis	Plant & Microbial Sciences	1995
Professor J J Deely	Mathematics & Statistics	1996
*Professor M P Hartshorn	Chemistry	1996
Professor R B Keey	Chemical & Process Engineering	1997
*Professor S A M Adshead	History	1997
Professor W D McIntyre	History	1997
Professor W E Willmott	Sociology	1997
*Professor J Arrillaga	Electrical & Electronic Engineering	1998
Professor H G Daellenbach	Management	1998
*Professor D A House	Chemistry	1998
*Professor R Park	Civil Engineering	1998
Professor D Elms	Civil Engineering	1999
Professor Michael Winterbourn	Zoology	2000
*Professor Graham Nuthall	Education	2000
*Professor Gerald Orchard	Law	2002
Professor Geoff Stedman	Physics & Astronomy	2003
Professor Rob Davis	Civil Engineering	2004
Professor Bob Kirk	DVC / Geography	2004
Professor David Gunby	English	2004
Professor Ward Robinson	Chemistry	2006

Drofossor Dries	Dialogical Cair	2000
Professor Brian Butterfield	Biological Sciences	2006
Professor John Burrows	Law	2007
Professor Kip Powell	Chemistry	2007
Professor Roger Sands	Forestry	2007
Professor Bevan Clarke	Commerce	2008
Professor Andrew Carstairs-McCarthy	Classics & Linguistics	2008
Professor Peter Hempenstall	History	2008
Professor John Blunt	Chemistry	2008
Professor James Coxon	Chemistry	2008
Professor Murray McEwan	Chemistry	2008
Professor David Thorns	Sociology	2009
Professor Cynthia Macdonald	Philosophy	2009
Professor Graham Macdonald	Philosophy	2009
Professor Murray Munro	Chemistry	2009
Professor Athol Carr	Civil & Natural Resources Engineering	2010
Professor Harsha Sirisena	Electrical & Computer Engineering	2010
*Professor Ken Strongman	Psychology	2010
Professor Kon Kuiper	Languages, Cultures & Linguistics	2010
Professor Peter Gough	Electrical Computer Engineering	2012
Professor Peter Harland	Chemistry	2012
Professor Geoffrey Rice	History	2012
Professor John Cookson	History	2013
Professor Ian Town	VCO	2013
Professor Peter Cottrell	Physical and Chemical Sciences	2013
Professor Krzysztof Pawlikowski	Computer Science & Software Engineering	2014
*Professor Desmond Taylor	Electrical & Computer Engineering	2014

Professor John Hearnshaw Professor Andy Buchanan Professor Patrick Evans Professor Mark Francis Professor Mark Francis Professor John Physics & 2014 Resources Engineering 2014 Professor Patrick Evans Language, Social & Political Science
Buchanan Resources Engineering Professor Patrick Evans English 2014 Professor Mark Francis Language, Social & Political Science
Professor Mark Francis Language, Social & 2014 Political Science
Political Science
*Professor Tadao Computer Science & 2014 Takaoka Software Engineering
Professor Pat Bodger Electrical & 2015 Computer Engineering
Professor Douglas Mathematics and 2015 Bridges Statistics
Professor Bob Hamilton Management 2015 Marketing & Entrepreneur-ship
Professor Graham Zanker Classics 2015
Professor David Wall Mathematics and Statistics 2015
Professor Steve Weaver VCO 2016
Professor Victoria Grace College of Arts 2016
Professor Leon Phillips Chemistry 2016
Professor Alan Nicholson Civil & Natural 2016 Resources Engineering
Professor Robert Jackson Biological Sciences 2017
Professor Eric Pawson Geography 2017
Professor Jeremy Finn Law 2017
Professor Andy Sturman Geography 2017
Professor Peter Steel Physical and Chemical Sciences 2017
Professor Janinka Education 2018 Greenwood
Professor Michael Robb Education 2018
Professor Ian Culpan Health Sciences 2018
Professor Brian Haig Psychology 2018
Professor Paula Jameson Biological Sciences 2019
Professor Jack Baggaley Physical and Chemical Sciences 2019
Professor Islay Marsden Biological Sciences 2019

Professor Jim Cole	Earth and Environment	2019
Professor Bryce Williamson	Physical and Chemical Sciences	2019
Professor Niki Davis	Educational Studies and Leadership	2019
Professor Tim David	Mechanical Engineering	2020
Professor Philippa Mein Smith	History	2020
Professor Greg Newbold	Language, Social & Political Sciences	2020
Professor Rick Beatson	Mathematics & Statistics	2020
Professor Bill Davison	Biological Sciences	2020
Professor Neville Blampied	Psychology, Speech and Hearing	2020
Professor Ray Kirk	Health Sciences	2020
Professor Angus Macfarlane	Education, Health and Human Development	2020
Professor Richard Light	Health Sciences	2021
Professor Roger Nokes	Civil and Natural Resources Engineering	2021
Professor Simon Kemp	Psychology, Speech and Hearing	2021
Professor Jon Harding	School of Biological Sciences	2021
Professor Dave Kelly	School of Biological Sciences	2021
Professor Maan Alkaisi	Electrical and Computer Engineering	2022
Professor Philip J Bones	Electrical and Computer Engineering	2022
Professor David Norton	School of Forestry	2022
Professor Robert N Hughes	Psychology, Speech and Hearing	2022
Professor Alison Downard	Physical and Chemical Sciences	2022
Professor Keith Alexander	Mechanical Engineering	2022

Professor Letitia Fickel	Faculty of Education	2022
Professor Jarg Pettinga	School of Earth and Science	2023
Professor Charles Fleischmann	Faculty of Engineering	2024
Professor Milo Kral	Faculty of Engineering	2024
Professor Elizabeth Toomey	Faculty of Law	2024
Professor Stephen Todd	Faculty of Law	2024
Professor Markus Milne	Accounting & Information Systems	2024